Apologies if this should go in the game skills thread, but I assume that is for currently existing combat classes.

I’ve played more Guild Wars 2 than any other MMO and why? Mesmer, that’s why. It’s my favorite class of all time and I’d like to brainstorm how a Mesmer-like combat class could work in PG. I’m new to this game so forgive any statements that are incorrect when it concerns currently existing moves or mechanics.

I’m also not going to think too hard about names of things…that can come later and I’m terrible at naming XD

1. The basic concept:

This combat class would center around abilities that deceive and confuse targets by summoning illusions (and preferably clones too) with different functions. I feel the most necessary category of moves for this class to have is debuffs – but it’s easy to imagine abilities with virtually any function.

The biggest drawback of a class like this at the moment is the lack of buffs and debuffs that enemies have (at least, so far as I can tell – I’m not that far into the game so could be wrong on this point). I think this would be a great class for a “turn their own strengths against them” type. In other words, stealing buffs and transferring enemy debuffs back onto them. I won’t mention too many moves along these lines as I think they’d be pretty worthless in the current game; in a future where enemy buffs and debuffs were more common, I’d love for a class like this to function that way.

2. Brainstorming the Functionality of Illusions and Clones

I think the illusions should have light power costs to cast and preferably pretty short cooldowns – but a continuous power cost to maintain. Such as sprinting in combat (though not necessarily that punishing). As in, it takes concentration/power to keep the illusions going, but while they’re out they stay out and continue performing their function similarly to a pet. Thereby making decisions about how many illusions to have out at any given time a fun strategic element.