PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Psychology Skills

FortyPercentTitanium
02-15-2017, 07:21 PM
Hi devs. I just started playing tonight and am really enjoying the game.

I have one suggestion. I love when a game immerses me so much that I read the lore and every item tooltip. I enjoy even more when some conversations make me laugh with little jokes or whatever here and there. It adds a nice touch and rewards people for reading.

However, my immersion is completely broken when it comes to the Psychology skill names like "Tell Me About Your Mother." I don't really feel like a skill name like that really adds anything to the game, but it does in fact take away. I've even read on Reddit about others who can't even bring themselves to get over that. I just wanted you to know from a veteran gamer who is a little more mature that maybe it's a good idea to keep the "your mom" jokes away from the skill bar.

Thanks for the consideration.

Greyfyn
02-15-2017, 07:48 PM
I find that spell funny as hell. It's not offensive. And the things the npcs say when you use it are hilarious. Being able to laugh about motherhood is great. It's natural. The implementation of that spell is fine.

Saying dirty jokes about someone's mother is NOT the same. That sucks. It shouldn't happen. Nor should gender-based harassment or shaming.

I also like that the game isn't trying to have some sort of fake verisimilitude. That is, trying to represent something in the real world so that the game seems more real. Who cares about whether the game follows some sort of real world model. It is its own world and has integrity within itself. That's what fantasy worlds are.

What kind of immersion do you require?

ShieldBreaker
02-15-2017, 08:44 PM
What if the ability was renamed "Tell me about your Childhood"?