PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from San Francisco

Corax
01-28-2019, 11:50 PM
I was watching youtube videos about upcoming MMOs and one of them mentioned this game, so I am now downloading the demo, checking the wiki, and looking at the forums. I played and loved World of Warcraft (gnome warlock) from launch to halfway through Burning Crusade, and I played Guild Wars 2 (norn ranger) intensely this summer until I rage quit from how horrible the "personal story" stuff is. WoW is still my benchmark for a good MMO, in spite of some poor design choices. Guild Wars 2 gets a lot right, but what it gets wrong, it gets so wrong: the aforementioned story stuff, 20-minute dungeons and fractals, skills that only work in particular zones, and more. Anyhow!

I was a technical writer & software engineer in Silicon Valley, where I worked at NeXT, PDI (while they were making the films Antz and Shrek), and Apple. I am currently retired and using my time to learn tango, aikido, and do some gaming.

A quick look over the general structure of Project Gorgon won me over: no classes, just skills; no class-based armor restrictions, rather armor affects what you do; presence of pets. :-)

I am curious about how the early access process works and how things will change when the game is formally released, things like content release schedule (the three additional planned races, for example), and the like.

That seems to be enough by way of introduction. Cheers!

ShieldBreaker
01-29-2019, 12:28 AM
Hi Corax, welcome to Project:Gorgon

Early Access in this case means that the game is in its beta phase. The game has been available to play for a good number of years, and has come a long way in that time. There are lots of additions to be added to the content and there is a new patch coming up near the end of the month. Not sure what is in the patch but it is for higher level stuff and some new features according to Twitter. When the races are going to arrive is uncertain.

Deldaron